cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archive Backup

santave
Level 4

Hi,

I implemented this technote
http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH28918

1. What's is the backup type of 'user archive', is it Full Backup?
2. When user archive backup running for specific directory and increment data happen for some files/folder, will the files and folder include in backup & archive?

3. At http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO34690
    What's the purpose of this note? is it mandotari to have Full Backup first before user archive backup?
Note:
The NetBackup administrator should make sure that a full backup of the client exists before a user archives files from the client.

Thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

1. What's is the backup type of 'user archive', is it Full Backup?

Have you seen this note in the TN you are implementing?
For more information on User Archive type of backups, see the NetBackup System Administrator's Guide.

So, let's see what NetBackup Administrator's Guide, Volume I  says about User Archive (exactly the same as HOWTO34690 that you found):

p.716: User Archive

A user initiates a user archive through the Backup, Archive, and Restore client interface.
A user archive backup first backs up the files that the user indicates. Then it deletes the
files from the local disk if the backup is successful. Archive backups free local disk space
while retaining a copy for future use. The copy is kept until the retention period expires.
Users can start archives only during the times that are specified in the schedule Start
Window tab.
 
So, yes - it will backup all files (similar to Full backup) before files are deleted. Files will only be deleted if backup was successful.


2. When user archive backup running for specific directory and increment data happen for some files/folder, will the files and folder include in backup & archive? 

Probably not. You can actually test this by running a User Backup (create schedule first).
You should only run a User Archive during a time when no changes are made to files/folders.
Best to have a system where every day's updates go to a different/new folder.
 

3. At http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag...
    What's the purpose of this note? is it mandotari to have Full Backup first before user archive backup?

Symantec has added this so that you are sure to have sufficient coverage.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2

Yasuhisa_Ishika
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

1. What's is the backup type of 'user archive', is it Full Backup?

User Backup and User Archve is quite different from Full and Increments Backups. In User Backup, NetBackup takes all the files and directories you specified when you issued User Backup regardless of its modified time. Adding to this, in case of User Archive files and directories backed up will be deleted after backup.

Whereas, in Full and Incremental Backups, backup target is preset in policy confoguration.

2. When user archive backup running for specific directory and increment data happen for some files/folder, will the files and folder include in backup & archive?

All the files you spechified in initiating User Backup is backed up.

What's the purpose of this note? is it mandotari to have Full Backup first before user archive backup?

This is just snippet of Manual. As I wrote above, all the files are backed up. No need to run Full Backup againt same target.

Marianne
Moderator
Moderator
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

1. What's is the backup type of 'user archive', is it Full Backup?

Have you seen this note in the TN you are implementing?
For more information on User Archive type of backups, see the NetBackup System Administrator's Guide.

So, let's see what NetBackup Administrator's Guide, Volume I  says about User Archive (exactly the same as HOWTO34690 that you found):

p.716: User Archive

A user initiates a user archive through the Backup, Archive, and Restore client interface.
A user archive backup first backs up the files that the user indicates. Then it deletes the
files from the local disk if the backup is successful. Archive backups free local disk space
while retaining a copy for future use. The copy is kept until the retention period expires.
Users can start archives only during the times that are specified in the schedule Start
Window tab.
 
So, yes - it will backup all files (similar to Full backup) before files are deleted. Files will only be deleted if backup was successful.


2. When user archive backup running for specific directory and increment data happen for some files/folder, will the files and folder include in backup & archive? 

Probably not. You can actually test this by running a User Backup (create schedule first).
You should only run a User Archive during a time when no changes are made to files/folders.
Best to have a system where every day's updates go to a different/new folder.
 

3. At http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag...
    What's the purpose of this note? is it mandotari to have Full Backup first before user archive backup?

Symantec has added this so that you are sure to have sufficient coverage.