Highlighted

BMR Point In Time

Hi,

Anyone knows how to change client configuration for BMR Point in Time Recovery? Because mine is greyed. Also tried to change the configuration component such Volumes that not greyed out, but not showing any windows.

 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Accepted Solution!

Riian suggestion seems to

Riian suggestion seems to work

BAre Metal Restore Client - > New Client Configuration -> Copy a Configuration (name: TEST-PIT ) -> Change Configuration for TEST-PIT

Seems you can't copy configuration from a PIT. You can only copy the "current" configuration. Is that a issue for you ?

 

View solution in original post

11 Replies

In Bare Metal Restore

In Bare Metal Restore Clients, right click 'current' and select 'New Client Configuration..." which will let you select a PIT.

I already select and create a

I already select and create a PIT client configuration, but how to change the PIT client configuration?

I think you should rather

I think you should rather copy the configuration from current, select a policy to use and specify the end date so it takes the image you need. Then make the changes the configuration.

"select a policy to use and

"select a policy to use and specify the end date so it takes the image you need" -> this how i use to make a PIT, but i can make a change in this configuration.

Accepted Solution!

Riian suggestion seems to

Riian suggestion seems to work

BAre Metal Restore Client - > New Client Configuration -> Copy a Configuration (name: TEST-PIT ) -> Change Configuration for TEST-PIT

Seems you can't copy configuration from a PIT. You can only copy the "current" configuration. Is that a issue for you ?

 

View solution in original post

The PIT configuration that is

The PIT configuration that is created is itself a READ-ONLY copy.  It is created by restoring the file "bundle.dat" that was created as part of the backup image that is to be used for the recovery. You can see a small restore job in the activity monitor for it. It is the "current" configuration from the bundle file that is used for the PIT.  Because all "current" configurations are READ-ONLY, so is the original PIT. You must make a copy of it. After that, you can choose to change any section of that copy.  All information can be modified, with the lone exception of the client name.

 

 

A few things to clarify the

A few things to clarify the actions of a PIT configuration:

1. PIT configurations are created using the normal "bundle.dat" client configuration that is part of any BMR enabled backup that has its path in the file list. The initial PIT configuration is based on the client "bundle.dat" configuration file for that date/time.
2. The PIT creation process will initiate a small single file restore of the "bundle.dat" file in the backup image.  It will be redirected to the Master Server for processing.
3.  Because the configuration being restored is the "current" configuration of the client image, it is also a read-only copy. If changes are required to this configuration, a copy of it must be made ahead of that activity. The "change" option is disabled for the original copy.
4. All BMR enabled backups, regardless of the content of the policy file list, will perform the 'bmrsavecfg' process on the client ahead of any NBU backup stream. The will always create a fresh copy of the file "bundle.dat" which in turn will be imported as the latest "current" configuration..
5. As the client configuration file is new, it will be part of any incremental backup as well as any FULL backup. Unless manually deleted, it is a persistent file.
6. Using a PIT configuration will create a recovered client with settings that match the client for that specific point in time. Any changes made to the client settings after that specific time/date will be lost. As an example, if a new drive letter or file system was created since the backup, that data will not be part of a recovery.  They must be reset manually post BMR recovery.
7. The major internal difference between normal configurations and PIT configurations is the use of an end date in the image restore phase. Non-PIT configuration versions have a ctime setting of zero (0). PIT versions have the ctime of the backup image. All NBU related commands used by BMR  will make use the the "-e " end date option for its operations. Non-PIT processing makes use of end of epoch as the end date.
8. If the PIT date/time selected is not a FULL backup image, BMR will parse the catalog listing for the client until a valid FULL backup image is found. The youngest available FULL backup will become the start date/time of the restore. The recovery will be for that FULL and any associated INCR backup images up to the selected end date.
9. A copy of a PIT configuration can be modified (changed) in the same manner as a copy of any other configuration. All of the client settings in the configuration are open to change, with the lone exception of the client name.

10. A command line listing of configurations will show configuration types of SAVED ("current"), PIT, COPIED, and DISC (discovered configurations). COPIED configurations will not show what was the source of the copy operation. Discovered configurations are used to initialize sections of a client configuration and cannot themselves be directly copied or modified. That happens within the configuration that it is initializing.
 

Thank you Jaime.

Thank you Jaime.

Good info +1

Good info +1

Thanks Jaime

Thanks Jaime

I will try this trick when i

I will try this trick when i available.