cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Domain Controllers using backup operators

benryan911
Level 2

Hi,

I am new to Netbackup and hold responsibilities to backup domain controllers.

what is the least privileges do to the backup domain controllers without domain admins? can backup operators will do?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

When backing up the Shadow Copy Components of a DC you are backing up all AD components

I have known people use the local system account without issue but if you are backing up to disk and want to do a GRT backup of AD then it requires a domain admin account as it needs to access every component of AD during the backup and more importantly during a restore

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Mark_Solutions
Level 6

When backing up the Shadow Copy Components of a DC you are backing up all AD components

I have known people use the local system account without issue but if you are backing up to disk and want to do a GRT backup of AD then it requires a domain admin account as it needs to access every component of AD during the backup and more importantly during a restore

Hope this helps

benryan911
Level 2

how about just the system state backup only? do really require domain admin?

Mark_Solutions
Level 6

Have you tried it? If you get status 0 then you are good - usually the local system account if fine for a straight Shadow Copy Components backup (do not use System State - that is for Win 2000 only!)

benryan911
Level 2

how to configure that to use local system account?

I got an error 58. 

forget to ask, now I am also trying to install netbackup client remotely to a child domain but have an error access is denied.

previously the other DC were installed by other which already quit. so I am freshly take this into account. really 0 knowledge.

Mark_Solutions
Level 6