cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup Tape DR(locate offsite) Planning

sungpillhan
Level 3

We're planning to move backup tape every Wednesday offsite as a part of DR planning. As I'm still new to netbakcup with volume pool, not sure how I can achieve moving tapes every week. And below is our current backup setting. Basically, the policy is triggered by OS crontab with bpbackup command and backup up 6 folders to a volumn pool which has multiple tapes. 

Questions

1. What is the backup type of this setting, Full, Incredemtal? It doesn't uses bpbackup command, it doesn't specify the type of backup. 
  2. How can I move backup tape weekly to offsite as a part of DR planning? Since it backs up to multiple tape medias in BCV volume pool and tapes contain multiple images, it's confusing what tapes I need to pull off.
  3. And if I pull off active backup tapes, then what happen to the next day backup? Will it bring another 4 scrach tapes active and starts backuping to the tapes until next wednesday? 

-----------------Current backup setting---------

1. Backup policy is as following
    • Backup type: User Backup
    • Policy type: Standard
    • Volumne pool: BCV (4 Full, 4 Active, 3 Frozen)
    • Retension: 1 month
    • Backup schedule: 12:00 AM Everyday
  2. Backup method and what it backs up. Backup is triggered by srv2 server with crontab script as following. 

echo "/data102" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst1
    echo "/data102" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst1
    echo "/data103" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst2
    echo "/data104" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst2
    echo "/data105" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst3
    echo "/data106" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst3
    echo "/logs101" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst4
    echo "/logs102" >> ${BK_DIR}backup.lst4

echo "\nComplete select file from Backup at `/bin/date +%c`"

\#COUNT=`cat ${BK_DIR}backup.lst | wc -l`

sleep 10

echo "\nstarting Backup at `/bin/date +%c`"

## bpbackup LTO