cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup data from Linux host on NFS share

Venus123
Level 2

HI,

I have my NBU master/media server installed on Windows server 2012.

I have to backup the data on a linux client to NFS Share created on a NAS device.

NBU client is installed on the linux host and I am able to backup its data to catalyst store. But when I try to backup data to NFS share, it fails.

I have created the storage unit on NBU Master server and have chosen the absolute path as 10.x.x.x:/nas/RHEL_Share. This is the path to the NFS share on NAS device.

I have created a policy on NBU and have chosen the linux host as client and selected the directory to backup from linux host.

But backup fails the following error:

Error nbjm (pid=8708) NBU status: 2074, EMM status: Disk volume is down

Please help me get this resolved.

9 REPLIES 9

RamNagalla
Partner    VIP    Certified

you need to mount the NFS file system to local Directory and then create the stu using the local directory path

mount -F nfs -o nolock <server name>:<share name> <target mount point>

EX:-

mount -F nfs -o nolock 10.x.x.x:/nas/RHEL_Share /NBU_STU

then create a basic disk storage unit using the path that you used to mount (/NBU_STU in above example)

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

If you want to create the STU on the master server, you need to check if the master can access the share via CIFS protocol. I am not aware of a way to create NFS STU on a Windows master server.
The STU path will then look like this:
\\<IP-address>\<share-name>
Confirm write permission for the master server on the share for the user account starting NBU Client service and NetBackup Remote Manager and Monitor Service.