cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Basic Disk clone and replication

sledgehammer
Level 2

Hello,

I'm working with Storage and I'm new with NetBackup.

I have two storages that are allowed to perform replication of LUNS. I don´t have qlogic HBAs to perform the Fibre Transport Configuration.

In my environment, one media_server is remote and doesn´t exists a tape library in the remote location ( less than 100 GB of Backup Daily are generated). the other MediaServer has a tape Library.

I´m thinking with abouth the Basic Disk Format:

When a backup is performed on a Basic Disk format, it generates a file with the backup content or are created several scattered files that represent the backup that was done?

Later I can migrate this Basic Disk to Tape?

If this Basic Disk is coupled to a Media Server, rather than being linked to the Master Server in any case the Master Server database will be updated in order to allow to perform data restoration, right?

But:

1 - If a backup is performed on a MediaServer_A to the Basic Disk;
2 - So, This Basic Disk is detached from the Media Server (MediaServer_A);
3 - Cloned and Replicated using the Storage;
4 - Going mounted to another Media Server (MediaServer_B);

The MediaServer_B would be able to recognize the Basic Disk?

Could from MediaServer_B  copy the data to a tape ?

Once the MediaServer_B could recognize the basic disk generated by MediaServer_A, the MasterServer NetBackup could recognize that he changed his backup media server?

To return to MediaServer_A:

1 - Remove the MediaServer_B disk;
    2 - Restore the mount point Media_server_A;
    3 - Remove the clone / previous snap up next window for new clone or pointer.

Have you ever seen this kind of situation before ?

Best Regards,

SledgeHammer

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

From a Storage point of view, your thoughts make a lot of sense.