cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can i have a Master server and Media Server on different domains?

aor_manuel
Level 4

Hi,

I would like to confirm if i can have the master server and media server on different domains, both are Windows Server 2012 R2, also i have another server and it is on a workgroup (also it´s gonna be a master server), is this going to work?

Master Server --> Domain 1

Media Server 1 --> Domain 2

Media Server 2 --> Workgroup

I have checked on the regestry HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\VERITAS\NetBackup\CurrentVersion\Config and everything it is fine.

I am attaching a screeshot regarding the error that i am getting.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Regards.

15 REPLIES 15

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

Yes, there should be no problems with that - as long as you are referring to "Active Directory" domains.

If you are referring to the notional "domain" of a "master server is chief and media servers and clients are workers", then no.  Media servers can client can only truely belong to one master server, and this we sometimes notionally refer to as a "NetBackup domain".

aor_manuel
Level 4

Thanks a lot.

Do you know the erre that i have attached? could you please give me an advise? also i am not pretty sure about how to add the Media Server to Master server console.

Regards

sdo

Ooops missed that.

Please describe the steps and the inputs that lead to that error?

Thank you.

Will_Restore
Level 6

If you are not using VxSS then set media servers

USE_VXSS = PROHIBITED

https://www.veritas.com/community/forums/118-vxss-authorization-failed

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified