cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clustered master upgrade from 7.5.0.6 to 7.6.02

neetu
Level 3

Hello all,

I have a clustered master server (clustered using VCS global clustering option) in active-passive mode. The catalog(size is roughly 500 GB) is replicated to the passive node using SRDF/A.

OS is Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise. The whole environment runs on tape infrastructure only.

I am deciding on an approach to run the upgrade and hence need experts views on that.

Approach 1- Break the SRDF/A replication of catalog. Upgrade active node. Bring active down after upgrade. Make the 2nd node active. Upgrade passive node.

Approach 2- Do not break the replication. Take a clone of the catalog LUN before upgrade. Let the catalog replicate as and when the upgrade is in progress. After upgrade at active node, bring it down. Bring up the passive node. As upgraded database will already have replicated, upgrade here require only upgrade of binaries.

The full backup of the catalog takes about 6 hours to complete.

Can you suggest me the best approach among these? Or any other if you have a better approach. Also, how can I estimate time that will be taken for my environment?

-Regards,

Neetu

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello

You should have SwapRoles = 0 + SplitTakeOver = 1 set. You can then do the remote failover, the cluster will make the devices in DR RW. During the R1 will remain in PROD and R2 will remain in DR. You can then perform the upgrade. Once its complete you'll need to offline the SG in DR, then re-establish the SRDF replication, then online in PROD.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

INT_RND
Level 6
Employee Accredited