cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complete Newbie Question!

mark0vens
Level 2
Hi,

As you'll guess from this question, I'm a total newbie when it comes to Netbackup. 
We've recently installed Netbackup 6.5 (standard) in our company.  We have a Windows 2003 master server.
We've just started a project which involves Red Hat Linux Servers.

My very simple question is.......Can we backup the Linux servers via the Windows master server ? 

I have googled this and can't seem to find a simple yes or no answer....

Any help would be greatly appreciated....

Cheers

Mark
9 REPLIES 9

rjrumfelt
Level 6
You can.  Just as you can back up Windows clients via a Unix master server.

Just make sure that when you are setting up your Linux policy, to use "Standard" as the policy type.  You'll want to do this for any Unix client you back up.

mark0vens
Level 2
Thanks for that, so there's no need for another media server or anything ?  Just install the Linux client and off you go ??

Thanks

Andy_Welburn
Level 6
That's how it's supposed to work - but sometimes that little bit (client install) can be a little more trouble than expected! ;)

rjrumfelt
Level 6
:)

Its been my expeience that with Linux, there's always some rpm you need to install that you do not currently have, depending on what version of 6.5.x you're installing. 

As far as the media server is concerned - depends on the size of your environment, can you're master server handle the load alone?  There have been more than several threads created in this forum on the question of "When do I need to add a/another media server," so a quick search will probably give you more information that you wish to read.

JoeH
Level 3
We have a Windows Master and Windows Media servers and we backup AIX, Linux, Solaris, and even had an RS6000 one time.  It works very well.