cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring BLAT with STUNNEL

new2nbu
Level 4

Hello- I'm new to configuring STUNNEL with BLAT and I'm hoping I can explain this ok but looking for some assistance.  The Netbackup catalog DR file/email can no longer be sent via email using SMTP over port 25 and they are enforcing TLS over port 587.

I have always used BLAT and I have since downloaded stunnel and went through these steps:

1. Download and install stunnel-5.56-win64-installer.exe
  2. Created a backup of the stunnel.conf.orig.txt file
  3. Edited stunnel.conf text to the following:

client = yes
             [ssmtp]
             accept = 25
             connect = mailxxx.xxx.corp:587

1. Save/quit the file
  2. Start/Programs, right-click "service install" and click Run as Administrator
  3. Start/programs, right click "service start" and click Run as Administrator
  4. Edited nbmail.cmd (d\program files\veritas\netbackup\bin) to include blat xxxx -server localhost:25 
  5. Reconfigured blat using this command:  

blat.exe -installSMTP localhost <sender_email_address> -q -port 25 -u <smtp account> -pw <password>

1. Send a test email with this command: 

blat.exe -sender <server_email-address> -to myaccount@xx.com -subject "test from %computeraccount%" -body "test"

I receive the following email error:

***Error *** SMTP server error

Error: Not a socket.

Error:Not a socket

Thanks so much -- hopefully it's something easy and I'm just completely missing it!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

Probably best to reach out to the stunnel people to help you debug their logs.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

sdo

I suspect that maybe all you need is a local Windows firewall rule to allow incoming traffic to stunnel on the localhost, and/or maybe your A/V is blocking incoming port 25 and/or maybe AV is also blocking outgoing port 587.

Can you telnet to localhost port 25 ?