cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creation of Barcode rules / Media ID Generation

rsakimoto
Level 5

I'm actually new to creation of barcode rules. This is with regards to my post about relabelling default media ID A000 to new barcode label on tape. It mentioned, before I do inventory robot on the newly labeled tapes that I have to create barcode rules. The barcode label that will be our new standard is EX. T153B1. This labeling is for our Month-end tape backup. The characters denotes as follows:
T is the name/type of backup
15 is the year identifier
3 is the month (ex. 1 to 0 and A,B as identifier of January to October and November, December)
B is the sequence identifier for backup
1 is the locator/identifier of site (we have four sites 1,2,3,4)

And for our Daily Tape backup is ex. TD1MB1
T is the name/type of backup
D is identifier for daily backup tape
1 is the week set
M is the day of the week from Monday-M, Tuesday-T, Wednesday-W, Thursday-H, Friday-F, Saturday-S to Sunday-U
1 is the locator/identifier of site (we have four sites 1,2,3,4)

Hoping you can give me insight how to basically define in barcode rules. So if its define already, everytime I insert new tape with standard label, it will automatically read when doing inventory?

Thanks and Regards

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

RamNagalla
Partner    VIP    Certified

looks like your barcode is too complex..

how you will add barcode/what willl be the barcodes  for 100 tapes in the Month of April 2015? for Montly tapes... if requried..?

or 100 tapes for daily backup Monday?

barcode rules helps you to allocate the new  tapes in into the respective volume pools at the time of inventory.

If you dont have the barcode rules all tapes will go to Netbackup volume pool by default.. 

by defining the volume pools you can simply send those tapes to Scratch pool or respective pools , Monthly or Daily..