Highlighted

Decommission a client from NetBackup

How to decommission a client from NetBackup? Does the client properly decommissioned after removed them from policy?

Tags (2)
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Accepted Solution!

Re: Decommission a client from NetBackup

Pretty much yes, you just remove the client from the policy.

If you do not wish to keep any backups for the client, you could expire these:

bpexpdate -d 0 -force -backupid <backupid>

View solution in original post

Accepted Solution!

Re: Decommission a client from NetBackup

It all depends on what exactly you expect from decomissioning.

If you simply want to stop taking backups for this client, then removing it from backup policy will be sufficient.
Any unexpired backups can still be restored (to a different client). 

If you want to also remove all backups, you need to list all backups and then expire all images.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
Accepted Solution!

Re: Decommission a client from NetBackup

Pretty much yes, you just remove the client from the policy.

If you do not wish to keep any backups for the client, you could expire these:

bpexpdate -d 0 -force -backupid <backupid>

View solution in original post

Accepted Solution!

Re: Decommission a client from NetBackup

It all depends on what exactly you expect from decomissioning.

If you simply want to stop taking backups for this client, then removing it from backup policy will be sufficient.
Any unexpired backups can still be restored (to a different client). 

If you want to also remove all backups, you need to list all backups and then expire all images.

View solution in original post

Re: Decommission a client from NetBackup

Thank you for your prompt response guys!