cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dedupe disk is full.

S_R
Level 3

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to Netbackup and my experience and knowledge are very limited.
We have a dedupe disk connected to a Windows Server 2008 R2 media server. Currently only a single SQL Server with multiple databases is being backed up to this dedupe disk.The total amount of data in all databases is less than 70 GB and retention is 3 days. The dedupe disk capacity is 655 GB, but it keeps getting full (causing  Disk storage unit is full(129) error). Either something is wrong or I am missing something.When I look at the Catalog from Netbackup Admin Console selecting the related PureDisk Pool the backup images are shown as expected, very few and  the oldest one is dated 2 days ago, which as far as I understand implies that some backup image expiring and space reclaiming is taking place. Image Cleaup job appear to be running regularly.

I also ran the commands below(2 days ago) ,but no space has been freed so far:

bpimage -cleanup -allclients

crcontrol --processqueue    (at least 4 times)

crcollect -v -m +1,+2 --noreport

Netbackup version is 7.5.0.6

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Sezgin

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

Those files are just containers and their size will not actually change - as you are doing de-dupe they could be the first ever backups you ran - after that the same containers get referenced and so they never get removed

As those are quite large it indicates that the first run almost filled your pool up - after that you are just adding fingerprints plus the odd but of data now and again

On that basis you really need to increase the size of your de-dupe pool

Compaction could clear down some of those containers too - all odd concepts when using de-dupe but if you have that many containers of that size it does just put you near the limit