Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EVA Array credentials and snapshot hardware provider

KeirL
Level 6
Partner

Hi

I'm trying to configure a snapshot client backup for an HP P6000 and need a little help in understanding what I should see in the snapshot options dialogue box.

Before I started any configurations I had 5 options in my snapshot method... auto, VSS,OST_FIM, RealTime and Flashsnap.....

This is a test environment and so I have a Windows 2008 R2 Master\Media server (running 7.5.0.6) which is fibre connected to the EVA. I have luns created on the EVA which I use for Dedupe Pools and Catalog locations. I also have a Windows 2008 netbackup client which is also fibre attached to the same EVA and I have a test LUN with some test data presented to the NetBackup client.

Test backups over the LAN is all fine.

On both machines I have installed HP Command View 9.4 and SSSU and used the same credentials for each and I can attach to the EVA from both servers and manage the array.

I next downloaded and installed the HP VSS\VDS hardware provider on both servers and followed the wizard to provide the login credentials and this all looked ok. Now when I run VSSAdmin List Providers I can see the HP VSS hardware provider and the MS VSS provider listed.

I still only have the same 5 options in my snapshot client options dialogue when I try to create a policy - I have restarted services and rebooted the master server - no difference.

So I continued with the information in the snapshot client pdf to add the HP EVA credentials into the Disk Array Hosts on the master server and this is perhaps where I need the extra help:

The 'Disk Array Host' is the name of the server that is running Command View and SSSU - Correct?