cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Existing VCS Netbackup migration new new Hardware.

Priyeranjan
Level 4
Partner Accredited

Hi Friends, I need your feedback and suggestions on my below Netbackup design. I am new to Storage foundation
so kindly provide some technical help also... I will be very thankful to all of you....

Existing environment :

Site A {VCS two node shared storage cluster} with two media servers

%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

New Setup 
===========
Site A - Single Node    
Site B - Single Node
Site C - Single Node

VCSCluster = {Site A, Site B, Site C} = NBUCLUSTER

Site A - will be Independent Node in cluster and catalog will be on local disk no shared storage
Site B - will be Independent Node in cluster and catalog will be on local disk no shared storage
Site C - will be Independent Node in cluster and catalog will be on local disk no shared storage

Now All local disk will be grouped and catalog will be replicated to each node by VVR(Veritas Volume Replicator)

So at a time One node will be active i.e. if Site "A" is active then Site "B" and "C" will be passive
and VVR will keep on updtaing the Catalog to each node according to defined replication interval.

Now Master is common and each site has one media server (Site A, Site B, Site C) and one tape library per site.

Now I need feedback for complication and design fault and the issues we may face after implementation.

Thank you...

2 REPLIES 2

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hi Ranyan

Few questions to ask.

1. Which of these three sites have servers that are actively being backed up?
  2. What is the bandwidth between the sites, and what is the required bandwidth of the master during a daily/weekly backup run (catalog metadata)?