cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Expire disk backups

snawaz3
Level 6

I am experiencing a problem related to this topic.

Can I expire images on disk via the GUI. I am not familiar with the cmds. Can somebody guide me as I am new to netbackup. I need to cleanup space on my disk drive. Also if I expire then will the image cleanup utility that i see run in the activity monitor cleanup the expired images?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RamNagalla
Partner    VIP    Certified

hi ,

yes,expire original disk option in vault profile over rides the retenction that you set in policy.

I suggested to make use of INFINITY to make sure, that the Vault verify if if the copy is duplicacated and then only its get expired based on the time that we use on "expire original backup disk after".

if the Duplication is not successfull, Vault will not expire the disk image,it will make sure that you have duplicate tape copy before it expires.

if your disk have enough room to have the images as you specified,below you are good to go..

Daily ---- Differntial ----- expire original backup disk after 168 hrs (1 week) frequency is 1 day

Weekly ---- Full ---- expire original backup disk after 336 hrs (2 weeks) frequency is 2nd,3rd,4th,5th Friday
Monthly ---- Full ----- expire original backup disk after 1461 hrs (2 months) frequency is 1st Friday

Good luck..

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

RamNagalla

Duplicate to 

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/image-cleanup-5

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

You can use the Catalog section of the NBU GUI to search for images and expire them.

WARNING:

You have retention periods in your backup schedules for a reason.

Only expire images with written consent from your management and system owners. Manual expiration is a breach of SLA.

Rather motivate for additional storage or implement duplication to tape.