cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting Catalog

shawntabat
Level 3

Hello,

I am new to NBU, taking over my company's environment with no experience since the previous admin left the company. My management has requested I send a third party our NBU catalog for management (ie., they have all of our tapes and catalog and when we request restores from them, they find the associated tapes and SFTP us the data). However, I have no clue what I am doing.

I've searched online and cannot find solid information, so I reached out to a user directly through here and he suggested I open my question up to you fine people. 

Our deployment is 7.7.3 and we're running a Linux master server, if this helps.

Thanks!

Shawn

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

@shawntabat 

The 3rd-party company will need the catalog backup, the DR-file, plus the actual backup tapes.

Do a Catalog Backup to tape, then send the Catalog backup tape along with DR-file.
They then need to perform a Catalog recovery using the catalog backup tape and DR-file.

Note as per @DPFreelance 's post that the master server hostname must be the same.
NBU installation must also be done to the path and version must match exactly.

NBU Catalog Recovery is covered in the Disaster Recovery chapter of NBU Troubleshooting Guide. 

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

DPFreelance
Level 4

So what would need to happen is:

The other company would need to stand up a new master server with the SAME hostname as your current master.  Then the can "import" the catalog into that server.