cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FC Switch Configuration for Tape Library to NetBackup Device

tcoed
Level 2
Hello all! I am new to the world of working with backup appliances. I have an IBM TS3200 tape library with 4 FCs, and a NetBackup appliance with only 2 FCs. I cannot find anything on multiple vendor sites about configuring the intermediary Cisco FC Switch to make this work. For instance, I don't know what kind of switch I need to use, can I use a simple 3750 or 3850 and put everything on the same VLAN, or do I need a special SAN switch? I need for the NetBackup to be able to see all four drives on the tape library. If anyone has links I can use, I'd be very grateful. So far the vendor sites of Cisco, IBM, and Symantec don't have anything that I can find so far for network admins like myself. Thanks!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified

The Cisco 3750 or 3850 are LAN switches, and as far as I know cannot do SAN FC.

SANs don't have VLANs.  SANs can have VSANs, and you'll have to read up on that - but I doubt very much you will need VSANs - as these are typically used in much larger installatons.

Most Brocade SAN switches have zero port contention, i.e. all SAN switch ports can Tx/Rx at full speed at all times with zero bandwidth contention.  AFAIK, many Cisco SAN switches have port group contention.

Most Broacde SAN switches have feature called 'cut through routing' which can be just great for storage as it completely and utterly eradicates any concept of packet latency.  AFAIK, no Cisco SAN switches have this feature.

Need a link for cut-through routing?

My recommendation is a Brocade SAN switch.  Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

I think what you might be "missing" is just how easy SAN "zoning" really is, once you get your head around it.

Collect the FC HBA WWPNs from the appliance.  These are your initiator WWPNs.