cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fileserver backup: poor backup performance | Initial VirtApi DLL load check failed.

Holger_
Level 3

Hi,

I recently migrated our clustered MS file server to Windows Server 2019. 2 nodes (basically the same installation), VMware, iSCSI SAN, multiple policies, multible streams, time-splited schedules, no accelerator or change journal in use (currently I have no knowledge with this), NB is v8 on server and client.

Especially the daily incremental backup of the user share folders takes way too long on node 1, it exceeds the time window. Node 2 perform better - not as good as on Server 2k8, but well...

Trouble shooting turned out a different behaviour: on node 1 the server is waiting for a timeout while failing to load 2 dll's (VirtApi.dll and bedstrace.dll). Node 2 doesn't have this issue. Both nodes should be identically installed and configured.

part of the bpbkar log:

15:56:17.549 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - FS_InitFileSys
15:56:17.549 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - VirtApi DLL WAS LOADED FROM VirtApi.dll.!
15:57:48.925 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - Initial VirtApi DLL load check failed. Will try again later.
15:57:48.941 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - VirtApi DLL WAS LOADED FROM VirtApi.dll.!
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - Initial VirtApi DLL load check failed. Will try again later.
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - loaded bedsxese.dll
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - [AgentID:13] ... failed to load bedstrace.dll.
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - FS_DleGen: Failure to create debug trace object at line number 76
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - [AgentID:23] ... failed to load bedstrace.dll.
15:59:20.089 [2524.6724] <2> ov_log::V_GlobalLog: INF - FS_DleGen: Failure to create debug trace object at line number 76