cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gripes and asking for suggestions

ruckc
Level 2
So my organization purchased NetBackup to manage our backups.  I have never used it before but am trying to implement it, and there are a few things that just don't make sense to me.  I was hoping that someone can correct me if I am wrong, or can lead me in a proper direction for a solution to my problems/gripes.

1) Managing exclude lists. When NetBackup was provided to me to install (two weeks after the support license expired, got to love bureaucracy), I installed it per the instructions and installed the clients, and in the java gui I was surprised to not find a way to manage exclude lists on groups of hosts, or setting up exclude lists on a Policy, or on the Individual clients. Then I read the documentation, and then I went and copied the exclude list to every client manually. This is something to me that should be common sense and I was quite annoyed that I have to manage this individually on every server. I imagine that people with hundreds of clients have other work arounds?

2) Backing up shared filesystems (and other shared resources). I have a SAN, between 2-42 clients mount the same disks from the SAN. Example, we have a shared /home mount point. Its presented to 42 servers. I don't want to backup home on every client every time, because that's a waste of backup storage. So from what the documentation says (or lack thereof) I need to create a separate policy naming one client of the 42 clients to backup /home. This poses an interesting problem. Say Murphy decided to come visit, and the backup of /home failed because the singular client didn't backup because of some random error. Then the next day human error happens, and we need to recover from the missing backup. Yes I could backup /home multiple times but that seems borderline retarded as shared resources has been around for years.