cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Importing Media into Catalog

Ben_Liebowitz
Level 2
I'm new to Netbackup 5.1 so please bare with me.

I had issues two months ago and contacted Quantum Tech Support for a problem with my tape library. The tech walked me through a few steps in Netbackup and had me create a new library in Netbackup. Doing this then posed a problem as the unit was no longer recognizing any of my media as it was all assigned to the old Robot. I then deleted all my media, and both Robots, added the original robot back and re-inventoried it and that solved my problem at the time.

However, I now need to restore a file from back then and I'm unable to because the catalog doesn't show the tape as having ever been assigned. I know the data is on one of three tapes.

Can someone tell me how I can import these tapes into the catalog?

We're in the process of migrating from Legato to Netbackup. In Legato it would just be a matter of scanning the tape into the media index using the scanner command.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

- Ben LiebowitzMessage was edited by:
Ben Liebowitz
3 REPLIES 3

Stumpr2
Level 6
You can follow the wizard available in the GUI under "NetBackup Management" or do it via command line.

This is an example of how to do a phase one and phase two import from the command line.
http://seer.support.veritas.com/docs/240402.htm
Phase1
/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpimport -create_db_info -id D0003 -server megatron -L /tmp/bpimport.phase1 &

Generate image list:
/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpimport -PM -s 01/01/71 00:00:00 -e 09/20/01 23:59:59 -id D0003 | awk '{print $5}' > /tmp/import_list

Phase2
/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/admincmd/bpimport -Bidfile /tmp/import_list -L /tmp/bpimport.phase2 &

If you need help on the usage of bpimport then you can check the man page or if you have a specific question then please ask and I will see if I can help you.Message was edited by:
Bob Stump