cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help designing backups with 7 year retention

lravelo
Level 3

I'm new to NetBackup and could use some help designing a backup strategy for our Domino servers.  My employer requires a seven year retention.  We plan on using a mix of disk and tape as storage medium.  Basically what I envision is keeping monthly full backups on tape for seven years but doing daily incrementals to disk.

Any and all help is much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Backup strategies are (or should be) designed by management.They should take into consideration the costs involved with the strategy. You say, "My employer requires a seven year retention", but to what level of granularity? Do they want the monthly available for 7 years, or the yearly available for 7 years? Depending on your answer your requirement for backup storage will differ a lot. Keeping the monthly for 7 years, would mean 12 * 7 instances of your data is kept, if its yearly, only 7 instance are kept. On top of that you might have it on disk and tape for at least some of the retention.

It best to put all of this into a spreadsheet and see what the strategy costs in terms of disk/tape. Then show them and get approval.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

RiaanBadenhorst

Backup strategies are (or should be) designed by management.They should take into consideration the costs involved with the strategy. You say, "My employer requires a seven year retention", but to what level of granularity? Do they want the monthly available for 7 years, or the yearly available for 7 years? Depending on your answer your requirement for backup storage will differ a lot. Keeping the monthly for 7 years, would mean 12 * 7 instances of your data is kept, if its yearly, only 7 instance are kept. On top of that you might have it on disk and tape for at least some of the retention.