cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I reuse an encrypted tape as a normal (not encrypted) tape

ilap
Level 3

Hi

Is there any way to reuse an encrypted (KMS) tape as a normal one. I have some expired encrypted tapes and would like to reuse them as normal tapes.

Cheers,

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I have no 1st-hand experience, but have you tried to move one of the expired tapes to a 'normal' pool?
A pool that does not start with 'ENCR_' ?
Then specify this pool in a policy.

As a test, create a test pool. You may even want to call it Test.
Move expired tape into Test and create a test policy to backup something small to Test pool.

Let us know if this works.

View solution in original post

Marianne
Level 6

That is my understanding, yes.

The only way NBU knows that backup must be encrypted is when  'ENCR_' appears in the poolname.

So, normal pool name indicates to NBU to overwrite the tape in non-encrypted format.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Marianne
Level 6

I have no 1st-hand experience, but have you tried to move one of the expired tapes to a 'normal' pool?
A pool that does not start with 'ENCR_' ?
Then specify this pool in a policy.

As a test, create a test pool. You may even want to call it Test.
Move expired tape into Test and create a test policy to backup something small to Test pool.

Let us know if this works.

ilap
Level 3

Hi,

Yes, I moved those encrypted tapes to some 'normal' pool, but I was not certain whether those will be reused or not. So, I kicked off a test backup which seems worked.

So, no any additional config/work is necessary but just move to them to a normal pool.

Marianne
Level 6

That is my understanding, yes.

The only way NBU knows that backup must be encrypted is when  'ENCR_' appears in the poolname.

So, normal pool name indicates to NBU to overwrite the tape in non-encrypted format.

mph999
Level 6