cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Backing up AIX volumen on a master server Windows

aor_manuel
Level 4

Hi,

I am trying to deploy a particular solution, i have a master server Windows Server 2012 R2.

I have some servers which have the storage presented from a SAN, these servers have other operating system, i mean Linux red hat, AIX, etc. ( These Luns are presented by Fiber channel)

I would like to present also these Luns to the master server (Windows) and then backup the information but the problem is, these luns have others format and i cannot to initializate them on Windows.

I have to present them on the Master server because i need to backup the information by Fiber Channel.

Anyone could please help me?

Thanks and regards.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
Backup Exec client? No. There is no Backup Exec software for AIX. NetBackup Media server software includes NetBackup Client software. If these servers are installed with Media server software and connected to SAN attached storage devices (tape and/or disk), they can back themselves up to these devices via SAN. Media servers still need network (LAN ) connectivity to master server for configuration, job and resource allocation and meta data (catalog) updates.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

Marianne
Level 6
No, this is not possible. You can only backup over the network as Standard Policy with AIX client in the Clients tab and the mount point as seen on the client in Backup Selection. There is an option called SAN Client, but only works with Linux or Solaris SPARC media servers with certain QLogic hba's. Not supported on Windows media server.

RiaanBadenhorst

TOOOOTALLY impossible. Windows cannot , and does not understand the file systems that are configured on yourt those luns.