cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Backup MS Window clusters

nbmagic
Level 4

What extra work or differences to backup a cluster than back up regular servers ? If there are three nodes in it, only one node or shared file systems on it will be available, when I back up the  cluster, should I just back up the active server or file systems? Do I need to back up those not active nodes as well? What issues it would cause if I just back up three respective nodes as the way for backing up the luster?

As you can tell now, I am seeking for a steps how we should back up a Window Cluster? I am new to NB backup, and I am more like a Storage admin. 

In addition, there are several shared data LUNs assigned to each server. There is also a lun called "quorum" for each  cluster, only one "witness " lun for one of clusters. 

What is this "quorum" for?
and What is "witness" lun for?

Thank you for your inputs!

8 REPLIES 8

Hamza_H
   VIP   
Hello,
You may want to take a look at this :
https://www.veritas.com/support/en_US/article.100028926

Good luck

nbmagic
Level 4

after looked the link, still don't know the answers of my questions above. Can you please elaborate my questions in a high level please?

Why do we have to back up each node and shared disks, and as well as virtual server in different scheduled times?
What is the virtual server referring to? Is this a cluster node versus each individual node

StefanosM
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

"quorum" and "witness"  are microsoft terms and functions, so you must ask a microsoft expert.

In order to backup a cluster you have to create one policy for the nodes and one policy of every virtual hostname (service) you have in the cluster.
With the first policy you have to backup the local drives of every node using the node name as client (and backup the registry also)