cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to move Netbackup transfers to fiber interface?

Goofoff109
Level 4

Hello Symantec Community.

I need some help, a Vendor setup our netbackup 7.5 environment a while back and used the LAN connections for everything.

Noone cared for a while but now the backups we are doing are so big its starting to saturate the pipe and slow other stuff down.

In the meantime we have acquired a fiber switch and have it all hooked into the servers/netbackup/everything.

Where do i go to move the transfers from the LAN to the fiber interfaces???

I am pretty new to netbackup. sorry if its a simple question but i couldn't find a blatent answer by googling or poking around the interface myself.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

It is not that simple unfortunatuly.

You need to explain what clients you have, and what type of backups they have.  How many clients do you have, how many are you thinking of switching over.

NBU environments MUST be designed to do x, y, z before they built.  If they are not designed to do x, y, z and then x, y, z are switch on, things tend to break.  I'm not saying san client config would cause such an issue, buty I'm just trying to explain it's not quite as simple as deciding something and then expecting it to work by changing a setting.

What HBAs do you have in the 5220, only HBAs in slots 2 and 4 can be configured for SAN client, and depending on the 'model' of 5220 you have, you may or may not have cards in these slots.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23

teiva-boy
Level 6

Do you have the appropriate licensing to do SAN Client backups?  

Goofoff109
Level 4

I believe so?

Does that play a major part in moving the transfers to the fiber?

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified