cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importance of backing up Pagefile.sys on Windows Servers C:\ drive

Chidobrad
Level 3

Hello Forum,

I am a backup Administrator interested in knowing the importance of backing up pagefile.sys on a windows hard drive due to space constraints. my questions goes thus:

1. What significance does backing up pagefile.sys bring when backing up an entire C:\drive of a windows box

2. Can the pagefile.sys be excluded from the list of contents been backed up on a windows box? if yes, how can this be achieved.

3. if successfully  not backing up the pagefile.sys in the C:\ drive of a windows box , does this have any adverse effect on restoration

Any questions the symantec community can render is highly appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

sdo
Partner    VIP    Certified
I suspect that it is already excluded: http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO86847#v42177707 http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-gb/library/windows/desktop/bb891959(v=vs.85).aspx#filesnottobackup If MS want it excluded from backups, that tells you how (un-)important it is to have this file backed-up.... ...or how important it is that it is 'not' backed-up... ...because operating system page files could contain a lot of interesting information to the wrong sorts of people. Anyway - anything in MS' registry key of files not to backup is honoured by NetBackup - and won't be backed-up by NetBackup.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

RamNagalla

1. What significance does backing up pagefile.sys bring when backing up an entire C:\drive of a windows box

nothing, you can definatly exclude this file

2. Can the pagefile.sys be excluded from the list of contents been backed up on a windows box? if yes, how can this be achieved.

yes, put that in Exclude list of the client

from Client backup archive restore windows --> client properties--> exclude list

or