cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way to restore files from backups before the valid retention time?

CCBNZ
Level 4

Hi all,

I am new to Netbakcup.

I lost some files between 15th May to 22 May. It seems the files I want to restore are gone from the earliest backup date as the retension interval was set to one month only... I run the command bpcatlist.ext and it give me the result as attached screenshot 1.jpg. And I did some reseach online and tried to use the "import" fuction from Catalog menu and search on it, nothing shows up.

So I wonder if there is a way I can find the files back? Is the virtual tapes a good starting point? I have attached a screenshot 2.jpg of the view of all virtual tapes. How can I view the contents inside each of them? 

Thank you

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

You will need to import expired images.

Phase 1 will recreate header info, phase 2 will recreate file-level info. 

Steps to Import Netbackup Images
https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/article.100017201.html

View solution in original post

Genericus
   VIP   

Please note - if you are trying to use expired media, it is absolutly imperative you save the media - either move it to another pool or freeze it, if disk - you cannot run a clean against it - you have to prevent it from being overwritten.

Once images expire, they can get overwritten, for example, tapes are placed back in the scratch pool and reused. Once they are overwritten, you are out of luck.

NetBackup 9.1.0.1 on Solaris 11, writing to Data Domain 9800 7.7.4.0
duplicating via SLP to LTO5 & LTO8 in SL8500 via ACSLS

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

RiaanBadenhorst

Hi,