cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MSDP Pool Max Size

Level 3

I am new to Netbackup and was reading through MSDP creation process and stumbled upon on a fact that in 7.6 Netbackup version the maximum size of MSDP pool that can be created is 96 TB.In a 5220 Appliance the max size which can be extended is upto 229 TB.Can some clarify what will happen to the rest of sapce on the appliance.Please update what is the max MSDP pool size for Netbackup 8.0.

9 REPLIES 9

ashokvaleti
Level 4

On a 5220 appliance maximum size a MSDP pool can be extended is till 64 TB.

Rest of space on appliance can be used for a Advanced disk pool

tunix2k
Level 5
Partner Accredited

Hi,

a 5220 and 5230 appliance may have a dedup pool whith a capacity up to 144 TB (148/158 if use a mix of external and internal storage which is not best practise).

This is new since NetBackup 7.6 (appl 2.6)

https://www.veritas.com/product/backup-and-recovery/netbackup/whats-new#netbackup (look at 7.6)

with more details:

http://www.veritas.com/docs/000022033

the maximum size of a dedup pool of a appliance may differ to them of a msdp pool on a media server.

ciao

tunix2k

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

For non-Appliance media servers, you can find max MSDP size in
version 8 NetBackup Deduplication Guide   See p. 41.
(NBU 7.6 reached EOSL a week ago)

Appliance max sizes can be more because Veritas provide and control everything:
hardware, software that includes the Volume Manager and Filesytem, etc.

Herewith doc that includes specs and max sizes of 5240 and 5330.

hariharan24
Level 4
Certified

For Appliance maximum size varies based on the model. PFA screenshot which contains the masimum MSDP size for 5230 Small/mid range & large model and 5330 model.

NBU 8.0 version - normal MSDP for SUSE/RHEL host can have maximum size of 96 TB (with 3 volumes) -

1st volume 32 TB - data, configuration & log files

2nd volume 32 TB - data

3rd volume 32 TB - data