Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master Server Migration

P_Kesavan
Level 4
Certified

Hello All ,

I have a requirement to move master server data from one site to different site , as we retireing that site entirely.

Existing Master : Windows 2k8 R2 , 773

New Master      :  Windows 2k12 773

In  my existing master server , I have the following :

1. VTL

2. Library 

3. MSDP (only for replication , i do not need the data anymore)

How to plan this catalog migration :

1 ) Now , Is it fine if move the image database from my old master to new master ?

or 

2 ) Move the entire catalog from the old master to new master ?

Please advice .

Kesavan.P
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I understand, what I'm saying is that the comms is from DD to DD, so an additional address on master or media will probably not make a difference and is probably not required.

Master/media talks to DD1 across the IP its using currently for backup. As is, that address would be used by DD1 to talk to DD2. If you want to use a specific address for replication, you can add DD1-1 to talk to DD2-1, but when the master talks to it, it would still do so across DD1.

Feel free to explain the network layout if you want.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

RiaanBadenhorst
If you can retain the name of the master you can just do a catalog restore on the new master. If not, you'll need consulting services to migrate/merge into the new master

Thanks @RiaanBadenhorst

Point 1 :

In  my case , i have the possbility to keep the same master name on the new site but not the same IP address.

Will that Ip change cause any issue ?

Point 2 :

Going forward i do not need those old STU , Poilcy names so if restore only the image database .. will i be able to complete the migration successfully . or going with entire catalog would be most effective ?

Kesavan.P

RiaanBadenhorst