cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Max catalog size

Skywalker1957
Level 2

Reference: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/netbackup-scalibility-maximum-number-storage-capacity...

That's a really good question actually. I have a master that's running NBU 7.0.1 on Solaris 10 and the catalog is around 2.1 TB and growing about 1% weekly. I have a lot of NDMP jobs that backup a ton of tiny files, and the meta-data entries in the catalog are many. I only keep a 90 day retention on that data too.

If anyone knows of a high water mark, I'd appreciate it. I'm looking into standing up another master and media server for my NDMP backups exclusively going to a Quantum robot with LTO5 drives. The NDMP data accounts for about 75% of my catalog size. My instinct it to break that out from the standard backups.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

Luke

6 REPLIES 6

teiva-boy
Level 6

I was always told 1TB is the max that is recommended.  Once you get into the 750GB size, you should split the domain's and have a new master.  This coming from one of Symantec's senior architects now PM...  I think he had a hand in the NBU tuning guides too.  You may want to look into that as well for some answers.

Boomchi
Level 4
Partner Accredited

Hi ,

First of all I would recommend to read the plannind and performance tunning guide page 30 and 31.

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=DOC4483

Also please read page no 764 - 769 for different catalog sizing and resizing options

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=DOC3650

- Kshitij

David_McMullin
Level 6

My catalog is 200GB and takes 3 hours to backup up - how long does your catalog backup take for 2TB?

The document referenced above suggests archiving at 750GB - "Online catalog should not contain more than 750 GB of data"

Skywalker1957
Level 2