cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating Netbackup from Solaris to Linux

Ram_EUHR
Level 4

Hello,

I am relatively new to the Netbackup world and I am working on migrating our Netbackup infra from Solaris (v10) to Linux (RHEL7). We were running Netbackup v7.6.0.2 before and I upgraded it to the latest version v7.7.3.

I had few questions before I proceed with the migration. I looked around for answers probably couldn’t find the exact answers for the below questions (or probably I didn’t search enough L).

We have 90TB of JBODs available to our media server (for staging the data written to tapes) and 14TB in our master server (for the catalog).

- Currently we use ZFS as a local filesystem and the data disks are in ZFS pool.

So, in RHEL7 world what would be the recommended:

- Local filesystem? (I believe XFS). I am thinking of creating local partitions in XFS.

- Preferred software RAID (MDRAID or Megaraid or anything else)? I am planning to go with RAID 1.

- I will take a full Catalog backup before I start the migration and then attempt a restore after installing Netbackup 7.7.3 in Linux. Is that the right approach or is there a better way out for the migration?

Also, I believe this full catalog backup will hold a complete copy of my Policies/Storage Groups/Media pools/Tape Drive configuration etc. Right?

- [Little out of scope from Netbackup] After I migrate the servers to Linux, should I re-configure the tape drives as devices from the OS perspective?

Thanks for the help.

-Ram

7 REPLIES 7

Mike_Gavrilov
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

> Local filesystem? (I believe XFS). I am thinking of creating local partitions in XFS.

It's totally up to you 

>Preferred software RAID (MDRAID or Megaraid or anything else)? I am planning to go with RAID 1.

You can use standard  LVM or md or whatever you like.