cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating to new master, but maintaining old one as media...

Ytsejamer1
Level 3
Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to the Netbackup world...I've used the program, done restores, backups, setup policies, but haven't had to implement it or get into the inner workings and configuration of this program.  That being said, I'm hoping some of you might be able to jump in and offer a few helpful suggestions.  I've scoured the forums for the last couple of hours but have a few remaining questions.

Our old master/media server is Win2k3 SP1 running NB6.5.1.  Unfortunately it's dying and has some intermittent hardware failures causing the system to reboot.  It's long in the tooth, but we need to keep it available as it's connected to our old tape library.  I'd like to be able to bring up a new NB 6.5.1 server (with a new name, new IP) and set it as the master/media server.  However, I'd like to set the old one to be available as a media server so it can access the tape library its connected to.  The new server cannot hook up to the old library...

I've read quite a few posts from James Dunn in regards to the FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER entry in the bp.conf file however I'm unsure as to which server this entry needs to be added to...the old one or the new one.

I've contacted Symantec, but they insist having a new server name isn't possible if I want to retain all my policies, etc.  I cannot be the first person needing to keep their old server in the mix, but want to migrate to a newer master server...

Any help and details are very much appreciated!  Thanks everyone!
12 REPLIES 12

zippy
Level 6
FORCE_RESTORE_MEDIA_SERVER = Old_server_name New_server_name

Jim

Ytsejamer1
Level 3
Hi Jim,