cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple Clients Failing - VMware - status 196

mhaif
Level 2

Hi All, 

I am pretty new to Veritas Netbackup systems and I have been dealing with a status 196 on a  client environment that has now been happening for a month. This issue is resulting in multiple policies failing due to a backup window timeout error. 

The policies failing are VMWare policies and are configured to use the vsphere intellingent policy backup method using annotations. I raised a veritas support case and the TSE based on his investigation advised to reduce the number of backup jobs from each policy running at any given time. 

However this atleast for now can not be done due to the client's requirement of not having backups run during business hours. 

Currently the backups are set to full backups and are backing up sizes raning from 4TB, 2TB, 1TB. 

I was wondering if any assistance or knowledge share can be done here to help troubleshoot and diagnose the issue at hand? 

Happy to provid emore clear and concise information for further understanding. 

Many Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

@mhaif 

Status 196 normally means that backups were queued, but there were no resources that became available before the backup window closed.

1st step is to look at the reason for queued job. Can you share that please?
How many jobs are going active at a time?
How many concurrent jobs are allowed by the Storage unit config?
What type of backup storage?
What is the backup throughput that you are seeing in Activity Monitor?
One or more than one media server?

Similar problem posted some time ago:
https://vox.veritas.com/t5/NetBackup/Backups-failing-due-a-196-error/m-p/869566

Hi Marianne,