cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NBU Admin console Query Builder exclusion not working

simz123
Level 4

Hi,

Im a noob in regards to NBU. Master and 6 Media servers all on linux. Using SL500, backing up on LTO5.

In my env we have decom a lot of servers. Im trying to remove clients from policies. But when i search for the clients under the policy there is only one. In the activity monitor i see multiple clients for the same policy. Hyper-V to be precise, Primary VM Identifier is "VM display name". to me it seems like there is a query to which clients to get and what not to. since i cant find the clients under the client tab, i tried to do a query for exclusion.

AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "brmwp-ctxgs001"  

but when i Test Query, it still comes under the "Included" and not "exclude". Backup job still ran for brmwp-ctxgs001 today even tho i had excluded it yesterday. Job ran in the evening if it means anything and i made the query around 11am yesterday.

I do not have access to the Hyper-V clients.

Any help would be appreciated. Any article that points me to the right direction would be help too.

Thank you

24 REPLIES 24

With SCVMM, you can't manually browse for VM's. You can only select them automatically through a Hyper-V Intelligent Policy query, so that is normal.

I never got clarification that you tried to rebuild your query, you can copy this policy to a new test policy and delete the schedules if you want. Did you try to rebuild your query and move the OR statement at the very bottom, so that all of your "AND" statements are together and are in relation to the first statement. This way the query is read as

VMHost StartsWith "brmwp-hypv"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWD-RDDEV"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWP-HYP02"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWP-HYP03"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWP-HYP04"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWP-HYP05"
AND NOT ComputerName StartsWith "BRMWP-HYP06"