cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NBU Catalog Merge

William_Jansen_
Level 5
Partner Certified

Hi Guys

 

We have an question about our environment. We have a old Win NBU Master v6.5.6 and a new Win NBU Master v7.1.0.4(this was done due to politics and trying to keep things seprate). However the business have decided to consolidate the two environments.

I was wondering would it be possible to just upgrade the old environment to the same version and do a partial catalog recovery to 'import' the old image data into the new environment in case the guys need a restore?

 

After some research if managed to find this article:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH31385

However it state's that your master server should not currently be running in parrallel. Any idea's/tips or tricks?

 

Thanks in advance for any advice/help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

The only way to complete merge two catalogs is via consulting services offerend by a partner.

What you could do.

Upgrade the old system to 7.1.0.4 

Copy across the image database only - merge this with what is there on the new server.

This will create catalog inconsistences,

Log call with Symantec and run  NBCC.  NBCC will be able to 'manually' create the missing media db entries for the tapes bought across from the old system.  They will be marked a full and only be available for restores, until they expire.

Regards,

Martin

 

 

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

The only way to complete merge two catalogs is via consulting services offerend by a partner.

What you could do.

Upgrade the old system to 7.1.0.4 

Copy across the image database only - merge this with what is there on the new server.

This will create catalog inconsistences,

Log call with Symantec and run  NBCC.  NBCC will be able to 'manually' create the missing media db entries for the tapes bought across from the old system.  They will be marked a full and only be available for restores, until they expire.

Regards,

Martin