cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetBackup 7.0.1 Backing up skipped files

gumbo
Level 4

Hi,

I'm currently running NetBackup 7.0.1. I have a master/media server set up using SUSE Linux 10, and a client also on SUSE 10.

My backup policy is set up to 'Standard', with 'Active' and 'Allow multiple data streams' checked. I'm doing a full system backup on 'ALL_LOCAL_DRIVES'. When I initiate the backup, I get 5 different backup jobs in the 'Activity Monitor', 3 of which contain the following status: "Info nbrb(pid=5636) Limit has been reached for the logical resource lnx.NBU_CLIENT.MAXJOBS.svr7.' I think I received that warning because I didn't have enough resources to run the job. After the other two active jobs completed, the pending jobs with that status message were able to complete without problems according to the detailed status.

However, in some of the detailed status I would see messages like:

"info bpbrm (pid=23524) from client: TRV - /var/run/acpid.socket is a socket special file. Skipping."

or

"info bpbrm (pid=23311) from client: TRV - /var is in a different file system from /. Skipping."

Is it possible to also backup these files?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

5 different jobs means 5 different file systems. /var is a filesystem on its own and is therefore skipped while the root filesystem (/) is backed up. One of those 5 jobs is probably for /var.

About 'socket special' files, see this TN for a list of files that are not backed up by NBU:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH52350

What files will NetBackup automatically exclude during backup?

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Marianne
Level 6

5 different jobs means 5 different file systems. /var is a filesystem on its own and is therefore skipped while the root filesystem (/) is backed up. One of those 5 jobs is probably for /var.