cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetBackup Healthcheck

me-ver-91
Level 4

Hello everyone,

I want to do a healthcheck of the netbackup environment. I am new to my company and don't know the steps to do it.

There are 2 NetBackup domains (each in 2 different locations). In each domain there are 1 master server, 1 appliance acting as media server and storage. In 1 of the domains there is OpsCenter installed which is monitoring both domains. Also 2-way replication (AIR) is configured between domains.

I kindly need the steps to perform the healthcheck as I said before because I am new and don't know exactly what to do. Your help is very much appreciated.

Thank you all very much :D

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

vtas_chas
Level 6
Employee

I would second the recommendation of @andrew_mcc1.  I have performed a number of analyses for customers with the NBAT tool and while it is not (today) an externally available tool, it is very powerful and will help paint a detailed picture for you of what is in the environment, how it is configured and any potential issues you could be heading toward.

Your account team should have ready access to the tool and can get you instructions on how to do the data gather.  Once they have that they can produce the reports and review with you.

Charles
VCS, NBU & Appliances

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

GeForce123
Level 5

I assume you still have licensing/support with Veritas for NetBackup. If you do, reach out to your rep and ask for a NetBackup Configuration Review, I think this is what you are looking for. They will have you run a few commands and gather the output. Once you submit that data to them, they will come back with a document about your entire environment's configuration and best practices/suggestions.