cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NetBackup status code 126: NB database backup header is too large, too many paths specified

vinayak88
Level 2

Hello ,

I am new to netbackup. for error 126 i found below solution in forum

Recommended action: Delete some of the paths from the catalog backup configuration. 

Can anyone please explain how to do above process.?

Thanks in Advance

Vinayak

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

OK, as far as I know you would only see this when using cold catalog backups, these are not avaiable in NBU 7.x onwards.

The old way of doing catalog backups was known as 'cold' backups, here in the catalog policy you could configure the directories to backup, more of less like a file list in a rehular policy.

If too many paths were entered, you would receive this error - I have no idea how many paths would cause the issue, but certianly it was very rare.

The issue 'cannot' happen with hot catalog backups, as the file list is not configerable, NBU knows what to backup for a catalog, it's hard coded.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12

RamNagalla
Partner    VIP    Certified

not enough details in T/N too

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO50895

i would say open a case with Symantec.

also could you let us know does the backup failure for catalog backups?

if yes.. could you show us the catalog backup policy configurations

bppllist <policyname> -L

also the failed job detail status.

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

What version of netbackup are you using.

Are you running cold catalog backups - I think you are

With cold catalog backups you can specify the filelist to backup, I think - in which case you must have hit some limit.

I would suggest that you switch to hot catalog backups which if the issue is what I think it is, will resolve the issue.

Hopefully, you are not running NBU 5.1

Marianne