cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup 6.5.5 problems

pruvn
Level 5
Hi everybody,

I'm new to NetBackup. I'm having a pilot Netbackup 6.5.5 system with MSL 4048 2 drives FC. I'm having many troubles with this so I want to ask for help:

1. I can only install client agent remotely within 1 subnet, but not cross subnet. I wonder if Netbackup support deploy client agent cross subnet ?
2. For backing up Domino system, I can only restore onto system with Domino engine, but not a ordinary  file server, is this right as design or it's my failure ?
3. With tape drives, I'm having problems when up the drive: "unable to up the selected drive hp ultrium scsi unknow drive name (297)" , both of my tape drives having this failure.
4. For MS SQL server database, I backed up the DB server, the process finish successfully but some of my DB failed within that process. Ex 2 DB failed, others succeeded ...

Thanks for any comments,

Vic
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pruvn
Level 5
Hi,

I finally find the reason why Netbackup can not see MSL 4048 Tape Library. It's zoning issue, I do not know why this issue arise though it works with same zoning configuration before.

I'm now working with with backup/restore MS SQL 2005 DB. I can backup a whole instance of a server but I find that I can not restore that instance [multiple DBs] at the same time [can not check multiple DB]. Does Netbackup support restore multiple DBs or a whole instance at the same time??

Thanks for any comment,

Vic

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Claudio_Veronez
Level 6
Partner Accredited
I'm a newbie here too.

about the mssql u have to config the database to full recovery,

U will have some issue about trunkate and shrink the log files..

I hope it helps..

Claudio_Veronez
Level 6
Partner Accredited
about the drive error

there is a post about it
maybe it helps you

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/troubleshooting-down-drive-paths

Marianne