cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup 6.5 - Unix to Windows Migration

SYMAJB
Level 5
Partner

I see many articles on this subject - whereby someone wants to move their NBU environment (Master & Media's) from a Unix to Windows (or vice versa) environment - but am not clear as to the current 'official' status.  Historically it seems that Symantec don't support or recommend this - but it may be able to be achieved.

I have a HP/UX Master/Media running NBU 6.5 and my aim is to get to a Windows 2008R2 environment with a single master and four media servers - all running NBU 7.x.  I obvioulsy want to retain visibility of the current backup tapes/images/policies - but don't need any of the configuration info (drives etc.) as this is all new.

Is this possible ?  If there is a version issue then I can install the new environment at 6.5 and upgrade after the catalog import.  As we don't have much expertise in the HP/UX environment I would rather not upgrade HP/UX to NBU 7.x then migrate the catalog.

Any 'current' advice welcomed.

AJ.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Ed_Wilts
Level 6

but am not clear as to the current 'official' status.  Historically it seems that Symantec don't support or recommend this - but it may be able to be achieved.

This is still true today.  It's still possible but unless you have a deep understanding of NetBackup and are able and willing to hack the internals of the data files, you'll likely be paying somebody to do the migration for you.

A fair number of us did cross-platform migrations in the 3.x and 4.x days, including us (from Windows to Solaris).  Since 6.x with EMM, I don't know how often it has been done in the field.  If people are doing it, they're not posting their success stories.