cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup 7.1 Email notifications

Milesm23
Level 3

Hello folks,

I have taken over the administration of NBU7.1 at my new job, I am new to the platform and the guy that was here before me had an e-mail notification setup to tell him what tapes were written.  I have seen the articles about how to tell which backups failed or which were successful but it seems he didnt use this route as it doesnt seem to be configured on the server.  Is there another way to configure the notification below?

Subject: Past 24 Hours Windows NetBackup Tapes Written

Here are the Windows server tapes that have been written in the past 24 hours.  Tapes that are not 000101-000199 do not get sent offsite.

Media ID   Last Written       Server

--------   ----------------   ----------

000117     03/06/2012 01:58   **nbu02

000168     03/05/2012 19:08   **nbu02

000007     03/06/2012 05:52   **nbu02

000116     03/06/2012 05:13   **nbu02

000143     03/05/2012 16:25   **nbu02

000144     03/05/2012 16:23   **nbu02

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

RonCaplinger
Level 6

This particular emailed report is not set up within NetBackup.

If you look in your .../netbackup/bin/goodies directory, there is a "mail_bp_reports" script that produces the output you see above.  It is likely running from cron (if you use Unix) or Windows Scheduler.  If you need to modify the recipient email addresses, you would need to edit the command being executed by the scheduler to change who receives it, as the recipient list is being specified at the time the script is run.

There are other reports in that .../goodies directory you can set up to me emailed to you.  Check the README in that directory for their descriptions.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Omar_Villa
Level 6
Employee