cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup Policies wont start on particular day

MOIMOI
Level 4
Hi All,

My problem might sound a bit weird but this has been happening for past over 2 months

I have a Master Server 6.5.3.1 with around 15 policies. My FULL backup starts on thursday and DIFF on rest of the week days (diff starts of on 8 pm). Weird thing is only on Sunday all the 8 pm policies never start at all. But 2 policies which are scheduled on 1 am and 2 am respectively starts off as well as a policy at 5 am starts n DIFF happens. I have not idea of what could be the weird reason behind this. One more thing to be noticed is there are couple of policies where i have 1 server (in each polcies)added which is not working (not on the network for time being with error 58 i.e not pinging), these servers show up at the Activity Monitor  even though the servers on the same policy which is working fine doesnt even start (the diff doesnt start).
I have logs enabled but i dont know which logs to check. If the jobs never started will the logs be there? I have also noticed today another of my Master Server the Diff never started for any policy at 8 PM but i could see the servers which are not working (58 error not pinging) are on the Acitivity Monitor. I have also tried chaning the DIFF timing on each policies from 8 pm to 8:30 PM but its the same.

Has anyone come across this issue. Rest of the days the DIFF is perfectly working fine except Sunday night 8 pm DIFF. I can past the logs but which one if some1 wants to see it?

Any comments or suggestions? I found this very hard to digest :)

Thank you all in advance!!!!

ABBY
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
Calendar based scheduling has been known to be unreliable with windows crossing midnight. Some list members will probably disagree with me, but this has been my personal experience.

The admin guide also warns against it: