cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup Upgrade Help

yahya1
Level 2

HI,

I am a support engineer, I have limited knowledge about NBU. Don't go harsh on me for asking stupid questions. I have shared the environment details for a client who are planning an upgrade. Lucky for them, I have to do the upgrade. 

Environment details:

PRIMARY SITE:

• A virtual NetBackup Master Server based upon NBU version 8.1.2 (OS LINUX). 
  • A NBU Appliance 5240 configured as a Media Server based upon NBU version 8.1.2 and Appliance version 3.1.2.
  • MSDP is configured on the media appliance.

DISASTER RECOVERY SITE:

• A  NBU Appliance 5240 configured as a Master-Media Server based upon NBU version 8.1.2 and Appliance version 3.1.2. 
  • Via auto image replication working on one to one model NBU replicates the backup copies from PR site to DR site.

Lets suppose we are upgrading to NBU 9.0, Now the questions are,

1. Firstly I will update the master server to NBU 9.0. If the prerequisites check clears. all is good and I should proceed to upgrade the master server and move onto the media appliance. Is that how it goes?                            
  2. The media appliance is based upon NBU appliance version 3.1.2 so upgrading the appliance version to 4.0 would automatically upgrade the NBU version in it from 8.1.2 to 9.0. Is the NBU version bundled in the appliance version or do I have to upgrade it separately?