cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Netbackup policy

Arvind_Bhope
Level 3
Guys,

What does a netbackup policy have. What information does it basically stores in it.  And If i have to find out as a DBA what is the info in the backup policy .. how do i do that ?

I'm just aware that the policy has backup type and backup schedule info. Correct me if iam wrong!

h2h,
AB
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6
it has:
A list of servers to backup.
A schedule(s) of when to backup - and the retention period for each schedule.
   if Calender based, it would have what days of the week or year to backup.
Which storage unit to use.
which volume pool to use
a Job priority if set
The Backup Selection (which files, dirs to backup)
(and a few other little things)

As a DBA I don't know that you would have access to run the command to find out.

But the big question here is does your database backup to disk - and then netbackup takes that flat file to tape?
Or does Netbackup use the database agent to backup the database directly?

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

J_H_Is_gone
Level 6
it has:
A list of servers to backup.
A schedule(s) of when to backup - and the retention period for each schedule.
   if Calender based, it would have what days of the week or year to backup.
Which storage unit to use.
which volume pool to use
a Job priority if set
The Backup Selection (which files, dirs to backup)
(and a few other little things)

As a DBA I don't know that you would have access to run the command to find out.

But the big question here is does your database backup to disk - and then netbackup takes that flat file to tape?
Or does Netbackup use the database agent to backup the database directly?

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Windows or Unix?
On Unix, you need to be root (or given access/permission by root) and on Windows, you need local Admin rights to run this command to check contents of policy: