cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to NetBackup Quick status question

Sacrifice
Level 3

Good morning all.  I'm new to NetBackup and of course as it's tossed to me I'm tasked with figuring out a very pressing issue.  Our current full backups are failing almost every weekend now because they are not finishing within their scheduled timeframe. I've called Support but because we're on version 7.6.1.2 which is EOL they will not support me.  I'm attempting to troubleshoot it myself for now.  My first question may be an obvious one to all of you but I want to make sure that what I'm seeing is normal.

Let me begin by saying that we have NetBackup installed on a Win 2008 R2 server and we're backing up our Oracle environment which is running on Solaris 10.  This has been functioning perfectly for many years now..(before me).  Just recently our full backups have began to fail because the backup does not complete within the normal timeframe and the machine reboots at the end of that timeframe due to our configurations.  My question is this.  When I open the Activity Monitory and view the Job that failed and then open the Detailed Status tab I'm seeing long periods of nothing going on.  Is this normal?  In the image below you can see that from 12:10am - 3:57am there was no activity shown.  That's nearly 4 hours of nothing being logged.  Is that what it means or is this just a time where it's writing files?  Is there anyway to get a more detailed log?

NetBackupTiming.png

10 REPLIES 10

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I have never heard of a NetBackup server getting rebooted at the end of a backup window. 
Especially while backups are running.

What you see is perfectly normal. 

The activity monitor does not display each filename that is being backed up.
You only see the warnings of files being skipped.

Your backup config does not seem to be optimally configured... 

Lowell_Palecek
Level 6
Employee