cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie tape question

JeroenH1
Level 3
Hello, I am rather new to netbackup (version 6.5.2 on Windows) and having a question about tape usage:
if a backup does not fit on a tape NBU automaticcaly spans it to the next tape (parameter in Host configuration, found that one) , that's fine, BUT I want a new backup to start always on a new tape, how is this possible?
In short I do not want to have multiple fragments of DIFFERENT backupjobs on 1 tape, but I do want it to be possible to span multiple tapes for one backup.

thanks for any insight
Jeroen

7 REPLIES 7

Andy_Welburn
Level 6
If you want each & every backup job or image to reside on its own tape(s) then the only way I can think of would be to have a separate Volume Pool for each Policy/Schedule/Client/Job.
I hope you have a very, very small environment or a very, very large tape library & a massive backup window! Ours is quite small compared to most:- 200 clients, 59 policies, 340 schedules, only ran 700 jobs last night BUT our library only has 116 slots & 4 tape drives & we only have ~700 tapes in total! If I wanted every backup job to be on a different tape then I'd need a minimum of 700 tapes a day (or even just 200 if I wanted it by client) & it'd take, well you do the maths!

JeroenH1
Level 3
I do have a very, very small environment (much, much smaller than yours), and I do not have the Vault option, so the offline storage is entirely up to me, and I just feel it is easier to handle this way. regards Jeroen

Andy_Welburn
Level 6
for you to have a separate VP for each client/job or whatever & then eject them at the end of each days processing?

There may be other methods, but that was the only one that came to mind.

JeroenH1
Level 3
So far that was also the only method I could think of, therefore asking here if there might be other methods. thanks Jeroen

quebek
   VIP    Certified