cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie to Veritas Netbackup - Backups Failing

babulmiah
Level 3
Hi,

I am completely new to Veritas Netbackup and have been given the task to monitor the scheduled backups on a daily basis.

The backups work just about once a week instead of every day of teh week.

On most days the backup hangs and is still running when i come into the office in the morning.

I am a complete newbie to veritas Netbackup and I need help is understanding\finding out where the problem lies.

I have created directories in the netbackup\log directory so that logs can be created by the processes but i have no idea which is the main log to look at.

The software is installed on a linux box.

Can anyone help me out, as this will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

10 REPLIES 10

rj_nbu
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified
 Hi

You need to isolate the issue on per client basis. Since netbackup works in very vast environments with numerous technologies and 3rd party products, it is impossible to have a generic solution to every problem. My suggestion is to islate the issues on every client.

For example:

1. Does the backups fail? If yes, with what error code.
2. How much data are you backing up and when are you backing up.
3. is there a conflict in schedules for clients. i.e are some clients waiting for resources when they should be running
4. Network speed and capacity
etc

-Rajeev

Giroevolver
Level 6
I would suggest reading the Manuals as this does give you tips and hints on how to setup the enviroment and troubleshoot

Seth_Bokelman
Level 5
Certified
Does it only "fail" on incrementals?  On very large servers, I've seen the calculations for incrementals take several hours before the data starts flowing, so the backup can appear to be hung, but is really just identifying the changed files that need to be sent.

babulmiah
Level 3
Hi Guys,

thanks for replying.