cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not able to add a new DXi to my enviroment

jmms
Level 2

To start off I am new at this backup world so I am sure that I am doing something incorrect but I am at the end of the rope so thanks everyone for your help already.  

I have a new Quantum DXi 4700 that I  need to set up in my enviroment I have tried everything that I know to get it to work but to no luck.  when I go into set up the DXi storage unit in Netbackup I get the following error: (it thinks real long and hard then returns error)

Status = Big red dot with white X

Performing Tasks = Creating storage server XXXXXX_10.10.XX.XX

Details = cannot connect on socket.

RDSM has encountered an issue with an STS

CORBA exception: getStorageServerInfo

thats it I verified that I have all the ports open 3095, 3096, 3097, 3098, 3099, 3100, 3101, 3102, 10001, 10002.  and of the ports I only see traffic on 3095, 3096, 3102, and 10002 the rest see nothing.  I have verified that alll the involved items, the Master, Media server, and the DXi all have an entry in dns, and that I can ping all of them from boht the master and the media (I do not know of a way to ping from the DXi to anything.)  Any Help would be great.

6 REPLIES 6

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Have you

1. Created the user for the DXI to use by NetBackup
  2. Installed the OST plugin on the media server you're going to connect the DXI

If you have, run the nbdevconfig command from the media server to create the storage server.

If you haven't, do that first, then run nbdevconfig.

Instructions are here www.quantum.com/iqdoc/doc.aspx?id=7905

If you run into more issues we'll review the NetBackup logs.

Marianne
Level 6

Can you confirm that correct plug-in version was installed and that nbrmms (NetBackup Remote Manager and Monitor Service) was restarted?

Does the plugin show up in this command output?

bpstsinfo -pi 
(in ....netbackup\bin\admincmd)