Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions and issues on basicdisk storage clean up

DavidE31
Level 4

Hello all,

I'm new to NBU 7.1 and I'm faced with a BasicDisk Storage UNIT full

We are running NBU 7.1.0.3 on a Linux RedHat 2.6 Master server,which is configured with a 7TB BasicDisk storage unit, storing backup images.

Data are backed up only on disk (there is no staging to tape)

At this time, this 7TB filesystem is full. Maximum retention is set to 2 months (some policies have other retention period, ie 6 weeks), High water mark is 98% and Low water mark set to 80%

On this storage unit, I can find some images created 6 months ago. They haven't been cleaned up although images have expired.

When I look at details on

/usr/openv/netbackup/logs/bpdm logs,

I can see the following :

05:38:20.185 [28828] <2> delete_image_disk_sts: Deleting disk header for xxxxxx_1343930400_C1_F1

05:38:20.217 [28828] <2> volume_cleanup_delete_fragment: deletion of xxxxxx_1343930400, copy number 1, fragment number 1, resume number 0 media id /netbackup/das/disk01 succeeded

05:38:21.411 [28828] <2> delete_image_disk_sts: Deleting disk header for xxxxx_1343930401_C1_F1

So it seems task is running well.

My question is :

- why images expired are not cleared ? do I have to delete them, if so how do I have to do this in order to not corrupt catalog or anything else ?

Some images will expire during the week-end, so I'll be able to see next Monday if we still are running out of space on this storage unit

Thank you for your help

David

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mph999
Level 6
Employee Accredited

If you are not using staging, the high/ low water marks are meaningless.

You have made some excellent investigation so far.

In summary, it works like this, I'm keep.ing this simple as with basic disk there is a detail I would have to test to be sure I am correct.

In nutshell, there are multiple stages to expire images